Andrew Kiguel

CEO, Director

Andrew joins Hut 8 from GMP Securities L.P., where he played an integral role for more than 18 years, including most recently as Managing Director, Investment Banking, as well as a key member of GMP’s Blockchain Investment Banking Group. He is a co-founder of Hut 8 and played an fundamental role in the formation, structure, and financing of Hut 8. Andrew has extensive experience in providing investment banking services to numerous public and private entities, including raising equity and debt capital in excess of C$3 billion over the last five years.

Jimmy Vaiopoulos


Jimmy joins Hut 8 following his role as CFO with a TSXV-listed commercial solar solutions provider, where he served since 2015. Prior to that role, he worked with KPMG in both audit and advisory practices with a focus on energy and infrastructure markets. Vaiopoulos has worked closely with independent power producers and specializes in start-up growth, international management, tech and mining, and has extensive experience in the underlying Canadian and U.S. compliance regimes. He holds a Bachelor of Engineering Science from Western University and an Honours Business Administration from the Richard Ivey School of Business and is a member of the Chartered Professional Accountants of British Columbia.

Michael Perrow


Since 2008, Michael has played an integral leadership role in the development, operations and strategy of numerous successful startups. Michael spent the last 5 years focused on scaling a music and technology company as the head of business development. He holds a business degree from the University of Western Ontario with a specialization in finance.

Bill Tai

Chairman of the Board

Bill is a Board Director of Bitfury and co-founder Chairman of data science company Treasure Data. He is an early seed investor behind high profile startups Canva, Color Genomics, Tweetdeck/Twitter, and Zoom Video. He is a Partner Emeritus for CRV after establishing their Silicon Valley office. Previously he founded several successful technology companies and served as Board Director of 7 publicly listed companies. He holds a BSEE with Honors from the University of Illinois and an MBA from Harvard.

Joe Flinn

Board Member

Joe joins Hut 8 following 12 years of senior leadership at Sysco Corporation, where he played an integral role as both Chief Financial Officer of Sysco Canada, and President of Sysco Canada’s Eastern Division. Currently President of Clarke Transport and Clarke North America, a major national freight transportation group, Joe is a deeply experienced financial and operational leader. He specializes in sales and profit improvement and financial management.

Dennis Mills

Board Member

Former Member of Parliament of Canada for 16 years with roles including working with the Minister of Industry. Held leadership positions at Magna Entertainment from 2004 to 2008 followed by CEO of MI Developments, a global real estate company, from 2008 to 2010. Dennis served on the board of Pacific Rubiales Energy and is currently on the board of CGX Energy.

Michael Novogratz

Board Member

CEO of Galaxy Investment Partners. He was formerly a principal and a member of the board of directors of Fortress Investment Group LLC and Chief Investment Officer of the Fortress Macro Fund. Michael joined Fortress in 2002 after spending 11 years at Goldman Sachs, where he was elected partner in 1998. Mr. Novogratz received an AB from Princeton University in Economics, and served as a helicopter pilot in the US Army.

Gerri Sinclair

Board Member

Kensington Managing Director where she serves as a member of the firm’s Investment Committee for the venture capital funds. Previously served on the Microsoft Senior Executive team as General Manager for the MSN Canadian subsidiary. Has served on several government and corporate boards including the TMX Group, Telus Corporation, BC Telecom, and Ballard Power. Gerri holds a Ph.D. in Renaissance Drama as well as an honorary Doctor of Science in Computing Science from the University of British Columbia.

Valery Vavilov

Board Member

Original founding member of Bitfury. Assumed the role of Bitfury CEO in 2011. Seasoned entrepreneur with an eye for market opportunity and over 15 years of experience in information technology and business management. Proven track record in building successful companies and high-performing teams. Prior to that, held numerous technology and business leadership positions at,, Allroll and Uzdevumi. MS Riga Transport & Telecommunication University.